The churches of Portoferraio: a fascinating itinerary, 7 places to see

churches of Portoferraio

Portoferraio is the main town on Elba Island. Where the things to see are many. And many are the proofs of devotion and traditions of its inhabitants. A great aspect to explore with a very peculiar itinerary that mixes art, faith and history: the itinerary of the seven churches.

  1. Propositura della Natività di Maria. It is located in Piazza della Repubblica, in Portoferraio. The most beautiful part of this building is certainly the Eighteenth century altar dedicated to Madonna del Buon Viaggio (“Our Lady of Good Voyage”).
  2. Chiesa di San Cristino. It is also known as the church of San Crispino or Church of Mercy. The origin of the two names are, respectively: the relics of Saint Cristino, inside the church; a marble altar with the painting of Our Lady of Mercy (Eighteenth century).
  3. Chiesa di San Marco alle Grotte. It is located in Le Grotte, near Portoferraio (where, among the other things, there are also the remains of an ancient Roman villa). Built in 1619 after a battle with the Turks, the real heart of this building is the altarpiece depicting The Evangelist.
  4. Chiesa di Santo Stefano alle Trane. In Magazzini, it is one of the most precious Romanesque churches of the island. Small heads, animals, flowers and plant decorations adorn the structure of the church.
  5. Cappella dell’Annunziata. A small hexagonal building that was once the chapel of the cemetery of Portoferraio.
  6. Chiesa del Santissimo Sacramento. Built in 1551, it is one of the most ancient churches of Portoferraio. Single nave, in the centre of the ceiling stands the Incoronazione di Maria (“Coronation of Mary”) attributed to Giovanni Camillo Sagrestani. On the main altar, polychrome marble and stucco adorn the altarpiece.
  7. Chiesa di San Rocco. At one time, it was the chapel of a small cemetery reserved for the deaths from the plague and for the bodies of executed. Today, in this small church there is a marble altar with a statue of St. Rocco.


Image source: